Tokyo University of Science
HOME > RESEARCH > Research Institute for Biomedical Sciences

Message from the Director of Institute

The Research Institute for Biomedical Sciences has been established in 1989 as a platform for collaborative researches among different disciplines of science and biomedical companies. Biomaterial science and biological and pharmaceutical sciences were major areas of activity at the beginning. Almost 25 year ago, the Institute was dramatically reorganized to be a research institute for immunology science and gradually modified to cover broader area of biological sciences including neurology, developmental biology, aging and oncology. In 2012, eventually the institute was renamed to Research Institute for Biomedical Sciences and started to cover clinical research and innovation of medical equipment in collaboration with research in engineering and hospitals of major medical schools and National Cancer Center(NCC) and a cross-appointed cooperative research laboratory to develop innovative medical technologies and equipment is established by NCC and Our University in Kashiwa Campus of NCC.

Main aim of our institute is basic understanding of life itself and we make every endeavor to this end. In addition, as researcher of biomedical science, we believe that our science has to be filled with admiration and awe of life and it also must be in full of affection to patients who are suffering from illness.

Yoshikazu Higami, Director, Research Institute for Biomedical Sciences

Research Institute Division Groups

Division of Immunobiology

This division focuses on the development of the immune system. We are working on the mechanisms of differentiation, regeneration and aging of the immune cells. These studies will lead to the development of the novel regenerative immunotherapy.

Division of Molecular Biology

This research division seeks to understand biomedical phenomena in terms of structure and function of genes and DNA using molecular biology techniques such as gene recombination. Supported by state-of-the-art research facilities and equipment, the division is pursuing research into the mechanisms of immunity, organ formation, apoptosis and carcinogenesis, among other fields.

Division of Biosignaling

This division focuses on understanding the molecular mechanism of dynamic and complex biological systems such as brain and immune system by using advanced imaging techniques, biophysical tools, and system-biological approach. The elucidation of molecular mechanism underlying axon outgrowth/guidance, membrane trafficking implicated in neural homeostasis, and peptide recognition by T cell receptors will provide clues to develop clinical applications for a variety of diseases.

Division of Molecular Pathology

This research division seeks to understand a picture of the homeostatic regulation by cytokines. Aberrations of the cytokine system is known to tightly associate with various immunological disorders. Our ultimate goal is to understand cytokine biology to control immune responses. This can be a powerful way to control disease. Therefore, this division pursues research investigating the mechanisms underlying the cytokine related pathogenic situations, including infectious diseases, autoimmune diseases, and allergy.

Division of Development and Aging

The research conducted in this division focuses the organogenesis of tissues and their homeostatic maintenance throughout the life time, from the view point of interaction of the tissue stem cell with its specific microenvironment. Understanding of the molecular mechanisms regulating these processes involved in cellular differentiation, growth, aging and death, provides a basic information helping to establish novel methods manipulating these biological processes for the application to the regenerative medicine.

Division of Experimental Animal Immunology

This new division was established in the 2008 academic year to promote teaching and research in the field of laboratory animal science. The division studies animals with modified genes, specifically genes involved in the differentiation and functioning of immune cells and hemopoietic cells, in order to clarify the roles of those molecules in diseases.

Division of Clinical Research

The main focus of this division is development of revolutional medicine and medical equipment by promoting collaborations between basic biomedical and engineering researches and actual clinical researchers. Development of preventive medicine and/or food for cancer and sarcopenia is also within the scope of this division.

Division of Molecular Regulation of Inflammatory and Immune Diseases

Clinical development of therapeutics based on basic research for intractable inflammatory and immune diseases, particularly chronic inflammation-associated organ fibrosis and cancer.

Division of Biomedical Technology

Developing novel medical technology and equipment are achieved by harmony among keen interests in basic science and technology and clinical science. This division gathers people in science, technology, engineering, and medicine and operates cross-appointed cooperative research laboratory in National Cancer Center.

Division of Intramural Cooperation

The Division of Intramural Cooperation conducts joint research projects outside the scope of each of the nine core research division groups. Within the division, research teams spanning various faculties and departments jointly study new proposals concerning life science.

Division of Extramural Cooperation

The Division of Extramural Cooperation is a joint research division including participation from private- and public-sector research institutes. The division absorbs basic research techniques while developing original research themes and conducting R&D activities from a broad perspective.

Research Institute for Biomedical Sciences
Director Yoshikazu Higami
Division of Immunobiology Professor Tomokatsu Ikawa
Assistant Professor Nayuta Yakushiji
Division of Molecular Biology Professor Daisuke Kitamura
Professor Ryushin Mizuta
Junior Associate Professor Kei Haniuda
Assistant Professor Yukihiro Tasaki
Division of Biosignaling Professor Takeshi Nakamura
Associate Professor Haruo Kozono
Assistant Professor Tomohisa Nanao
Division of Molecular Pathology Professor Masato Kubo
Associate Professor Naoko Nakano
Junior Associate Professor Masayuki Sakurai
Assistant Professor Shunpei Okada
Division of Development and Aging Professor Ryo Goitsuka
Junior Associate Professor Shunsuke Kon
Assistant Professor Shogo Okazaki
Division of Experimental Animal Immunology Professor Yoichiro Iwakura
Junior Associate Professor Shuhei Ogawa
Assistant Professor Chung Soo Hyun
Division of Molecular Regulation of Inflammatory and Immune Diseases Professor Kouji Matsushima
Associate Professor Satoshi Ueha
Junior Associate Professor Yuya Terashima
Assistant Professor Shigeyuki Shichino
Division of Biomedical Technology
Director Yoshikazu Higami
Professor Kohei Soga
Professor Hiroshi Takemura
Assistant Professor Toshihiro Takamatsu
Assistant Professor Doan Thi Kim Dung
Shared equipment Technical Assistant Yasushi Hara