Message from the President

Yoichiro Matsumoto President,
Tokyo University of Science

Since the founding of Tokyo University of Science in 1881, science and technology have advanced at a dizzying pace. Global issues such as environment and energy challenges have emerged as crucial issues.
Today our founding principle of advancing science and technology in harmony with nature is more relevant than ever. Rooted in a strong sense of ethics, scientists and engineers at TUS strive to solve global challenges and make the world a better place through science. The undergraduate program fosters students with a solid foundation in specific disciplines for future development and success. Graduate school students hone their skills in an interdisciplinary environment.
In particular, in the advanced stages of their studies, students can conduct research at the frontiers of their disciplines, interacting with accomplished professors, scholars and scientists. Research and education go hand in hand. At TUS, we work to tackle important problems that often require multidisciplinary scientific knowledge. At TUS, we take great pride in our broad purview and illustrious history, remaining fully committed to our mission of education and research to improve the world through science and technology.


President Yoichiro Matsumoto graduated from the Department of Mechanical Engineering in the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1972. He obtained a PhD in Engineering from the Graduate School of Engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1977, and was appointed as a lecturer in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Tokyo in 1977. He served as Assistant Professor and Professor, and subsequently became Director and Vice President of the University of Tokyo in 2009.
Matsumoto was appointed as an Executive Director at Riken in 2015 as well as of the National Cancer Center Japan (part-time). In 2018, he was appointed as the 10th President of the Tokyo University of Science.
Matsumoto also serves as the Chairman of the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (88th term), a member of the Science Council of Japan/Chairperson of the 3rd Committee on Mechanical Engineering (23rd term), and as a fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (life member).

Main Awards

  • ・The APACM Award for Computational Mechanics (2010)
  • ・ASME Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award (2010)
  • ・Tokyo Metropolitan Merit Award (Technology Promotion) (2015) etc.

History of TUS Presidents

  1. Hisashi Terao

    First President of the Tokyo Academy of Physics
  2. Kotaro Honda

    Metal Physics
    First President of the Tokyo University of Science
  3. Masaichi Majima

    Applied Physics
  4. Seishi Kikuchi

    Atomic Physics
  5. Masao Kotani

    Theoretical Physics
  6. Masao Yoshiki

    Marine Engineering
  7. Tetsuji Nishikawa

    High Energy Physics
  8. Hiroyuki Okamura

    Material Strength and Fracture Mechanics
  9. Shin Takeuchi

    Physical Metallurgy
  10. Akira Fujishima

    Photoelectrochemistry, Advanced Materials
  11. Yoichiro Matsumoto

    Fluid Engineering