The objective of the Department of Materials Science and Technology is to cultivate human resources who possess creative capabilities and new perspectives relating to materials engineering and to contribute broadly to human society, by clarifying the qualities of materials from a consistent and uniform view ranging from the atomic and molecular level to a macroscopic level while maintaining a linkage between each field regardless of the existing framework of materials, and by carrying out research and education with this as the basis.

List of Research Areas and Faculty Members

Major Name Title Research Area
Design of Advanced Materials KOTSUGI Masato Professor Electronic Solid-State Engineering
TAMURA Ryuji Professor Metallic Materials Engineering
NISHIO Keishi Professor Ceramics Engineering
AKIYAMA Yoshitsugu Associate Professor Engineered organic functional materials
KAMIMURA Masao Associate Professor Polymer Nanomaterials Engineering
Design of Advanced Functions KIKUCHI Akihiko Professor Biomaterials Engineering
SOGA Kohei Professor Photonic Materials Engineering
FURUE Hirokazu Professor Liquid Crystal Materials Engineering
WATANABE Toshiyuki Professor Design science
HOBARA Hiroaki Associate Professor Biomechanics
UMEZAWA Masakazu Junior Associate Professor Nanomedical engineering
Environment and Energy Materials IIDA Tsutomu Professor Environmentally-Friendly Semiconductor Engineering
YASUMORI Atsuo Professor Inorganic Glasses and Functional Materials
KATSUMATA Ken-ichi Associate Professor Inorganic Glasses and Functional Materials
MAEDA Kei Professor Inorganic Glasses
Aerospace Materials KOGO Yasuo Professor Mechanical System
KOYANAGI Jun Professor Composite Materials Engineering
(Visiting Faculty Members and Research Fields Based on the Joint Graduate School System)
Materials Physics and Engineering SHIMIZU Takahisa Visiting Associate Professor OEL Materials Engineering (NHK Science & Technology Research Laboratories)
FURUE Hirokazu Professor*
XU Ya Visiting Professor catalyst materials engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
TAMURA Ryuji Professor*
Organic Materials Engineering EBARA Mitsuhiro Visiting Professor Smart Biomaterials Engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
KIKUCHI Akihiko Professor*
NAKANISHI Jun Visiting Professor Bioanalysis Engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
KAMIMURA Masao Junior Associate Professor*
Inorganic Materials Engineering SEGAWA Hiroyo Visiting Professor Amorphous Materials Engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
YASUMORI Atsuo Professor*
KIKUCHI Naoto Visiting Professor Thin Film Technology (Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
NISHIO Keishi Associate Professor*
System Materials/Composite Materials Engineering GOTO Ken Visiting Associate Professor Composite Materials Engineering (Heat-Resistant Composite Materials (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency))
KOGO Yasuo Professor*
YAMADA Kazuhiko Visiting Associate Professor Department of Space Flight Systems (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency)
KOYANAGI Jun Professor*
Semiconductor Materials Engineering LEE Chul-Ho Visiting Professor Thermoelectric Materials Engineering (Advanced Industrial Science and Technology)
IIDA Tsutomu Professor*
NAGAMURA Naoka Visiting Associate Professor Surface and thin-film science,Analytical Chemistry (National Institute for Materials Science)
KOTSUGI Masato Professor*
Materials Process Engineering OHKUBO Tadakatsu Visiting Professor Nanostructure Materials Engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
ISHIGURO Takashi Professor*
MORITA Koji Visiting Professor Nanoceramics Process Engineering (National Institute for Materials Science)
SOGA Kohei Professor*
(Note) * indicates deputy advisors.